Skip to content

Sonata for Violin and Piano .

Original price $1,750TWD - Original price $1,750TWD
Original price
$1,750TWD - $1,750TWD
Current price $1,750TWD
Composer: Maxwell Davies, Sir Peter
Instrument: violin and piano
Publisher: Schott Music
Sir Peter Maxwell Davies is universally acknowledged as one of the foremost composers of our time and as he reaches his 75th birthday in 2009 he remains prolific.The sonata for violin and piano was written for the virtuoso violinist, Ilya Gringolts and first performed at the St Magnus Festival in Orkney in 2008. The work is principally concerned with Italian architecture and the music takes both performers and audience across an imaginary walkway over Rome as proposed by the architect Giuseppe Rebecchini. Starting at the 17th Century Chiesa Nuova the exceptional journey passes Renaissance churches, exhibition spaces, the river Tiber, glass façades, sculptures and even a prison where a Lazio folk tune can be heard echoing from behind the walls. The journey ends 15 minutes later at Gianicolo, an area where one can take in breathtaking views over the whole city.
Pages: 36
Weight(g): 160
ISMN: 9790220131141