Skip to content

Seven (Memorial for the Columbia Astronauts)

Original price $2,250TWD - Original price $2,250TWD
Original price
$2,250TWD - $2,250TWD
Current price $2,250TWD
Composer: Eötvös, Peter
Instrument: violin and orchestra
Publisher: Schott Music
Eötvös wrote this piece in memory of the seven astronauts who lost their lives in the Space Shuttle Columbia tragedy in 2003. The number 7 determines the musical, rhythmic and formal structure of the work: 49 musicians are divided into seven groups, and as well as the solo violin there are six further violins arranged correspondingly around the hall; and the solo violin itself portrays each of the astronauts and their different origin, from America via Israel to India, in folkloristically tinged cadenzas.'The violin concerto Seven is a very personal monologue and the musical expression of my sympathy towards the seven astronauts who lost their lives while exploring space in fulfilment of a fundamental dream of mankind.' (Peter Eötvös)
Pages: 80
Weight(g): 310
ISMN: 9790001149044